I’m starting to worry about race day

Planning.  The basis of securing a desired outcome.  I have done as much as I can so far, but race day is still going to be a leap into the unknown.  Or quite a few leaps really to get to the 13.1 mile point. I am working on the run/walking, but what about everything else.  Impatience at not having all the information is eating away at me (a bit).

My race day worries:

How long before the race do I need to be at the start point? Obviously I don’t want to be late and in a panic, but lots of waiting around, watching other runners limber up is going to unnerve me.

At what point should I go to the toilet? Big concern this one.  Trying to optimise the time available to go to the toilet, the potential queue and the complete emptying of the bladder. The more I think about the potential absence of a toilet, the more I think I need to go, my brain convinces me I have a full bladder even if the opposite is true.  Although I am worried about this – it does also make me feel grateful for the regular availability of toilets most of the rest of the time in my life – and then I think about why I am running the Bath Half Marathon in the first place.

When and what should I eat? I have been experimenting with food and running. Usually I go on an empty stomach, but I feel that a race that begins at 11am and will go on for a substantial length of time (for me) is not a no food event.  However, a breakfast of porridge followed by a midday run makes me feel like I am lugging around an extra half stone. Can I move the porridge to midnight? A very early breakfast, before I go to bed?

Image courtesy of Sura Nualpradid/ FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Sura Nualpradid/ FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Drinks on the race course. Despite the bladder panic, I will need a drink, but how does it work. Are there so many people that a queue develops? What if I get propelled along in the crowd and miss my opportunity. Where do you need to position yourself to make sure you actually get a swipe at the drinks?

Vaseline – how much and where? Apparently I need this to prevent injuries from my clothes rubbing me, and I need it in all sorts of unmentionable places.  Should I get a family sized pot? Presumably this needs to be sorted out in the  privacy of my home before I get to the pre-race area.

Keeping out of the way. I know I am going to be lapped by the front runners.  Apparently the marshals will tell me to get out of the way.  Will I understand what to do in good time? The pictures all show great crowds of people running; it doesn’t look like there could be much room to move anywhere. I will follow the person in front and hope they are not new to this, like me.

What to do with my extra layers and bits and bobs? I don’t like to be burdened with stuff when running.  Water bottles, things round my waist.  It is distracting.  But if this weather continues I need to be wrapped up while I wait for the race to begin.  What to do with my extra layers? Can I station a family member at a strategic location and lob a piece of clothing at them as I trot by?

The race pack – what’s in it? What is the best way to secure my number to my top? Do you get two? Front and back? This thing that goes on my shoe lace – the timing thing –  how does that work……

I am sure it will be alright on the day, won’t it? Just so long as I don’t have to deal with the absent toilet problems encountered by fellow Wherever The Need runner Laura. Read it here!

8 responses to “I’m starting to worry about race day

  1. I’m no expert, having competed just two half marathons, but I can try.

    1. The race organizers usually tell you what time to be ready. I don’t want to wait around for more than about 15 minutes if I can help it.

    2. Because of lines, I usually hit the portapotties when I get to the race so that I have enough time to deal with the lines. But on my last race, I also saw people, mostly guys, veering off into the woods the first half-mile, so everyone has a different strategy.

    3. I eat a decent meal the night before, then have a protein bar in the car on the way to the race. I also have GU gels for during the race. But I’ve never had an 11am start either, so I’d probably eat a little more in the morning. A bagel, toast, something like that.

    4. In The races I’ve done, sometimes there’s a line for water, but rather than jamming up at the front of the water station, if you keep going there are usually more volunteers a little further down. I’m slow so I stay to the right during the race, and the water stops are not a problem.

    5. I don’t usually have chafing problems, although my last race my sports bra rubbed wrong with my Garmin heart rate monitor strap and I have a massive strawberry blister on my back right now. Other than that, unless its hot (and hot is relative–I live in Texas) I don’t use a any kind of chafing gel or body glide. Mistake? Maybe. But so far, so good.

    6. I haven’t run a race like you describe, but I’d imagine staying to the right and jut paying attention will serve you well.

    7. Lots of people start the race with throwaway clothes–old sweatshirts or whatever–that they just toss at the start or soon after. My last half-marathon, the course was littered with clothing for the first eight miles at least. I ditched my jacket with my husband at about mile six, so that’s likely an option too.

    8. I’ve always gotten one number–goes on the front–and pins. I either pin it to my shirt or my waist pack on my bottom layer. It’s how the picture people identify you too–they match your number to your info and you can easily find your pictures later.

    The shoe thing records your time as you start, at points along the way, and at the finish. It will have directions how to attach it. Look at other people’s shoes when you get there and that will help too.

    The races I’ve done, from 5Ks to half-marathons, are well organized and lots of volunteers will be there to help direct you. Watch what others are doing and you can figure out the basics, etiquette, etc.

    And don’t forget to enjoy it! Savor the experience, try to record the details in your head as you go. You only have one first half marathon, so have fun!

  2. 1. I like to get there an hour before, dump my stuff and find out where everything is (including toilets). I go the loo. I then start to warm-up.
    2. I usually go the loo again about 10 minutes before the start as well just in case.
    3. I don’t eat anything new for breakfast, usually weetabix with a banana, greek yoghurt and honey.
    4. Dont stop at the first water station table, I usually go for the last one in a water stop.
    5. Vaseline in all the usual places.
    6. Stay to the right and you’ll be ok.
    7. I’ve run with a small bumbag that I put my gels in, I wore an old fleece at the start which I threw to the side a couple of minutes before the start.

    And enjoy!

  3. I love this! I have run a few 5K’s but never a half-marathon. I have one planned for May, so these thoughts and tips are fantastic!

  4. Great questions. I am also getting ready for my first half marathon and it will be an experience. One comment on drinks during the race… I try to drink about 3 liters of water a day to keep hydrated. This helps in many ways while I run, but also in the race. Being hydrated before the race is a great way to not need as much during the race. It also helps my running in general. I have run up to 14 miles in my neighborhood without feeling thirsty. Of course temperature makes a big difference, but keeping hydrated long term (not just the day before) is a huge help. This is from experience and some may not agree, but it works for me.

  5. Oh my goodness, I totally remember feeling this way before my first race! Thank goodness for blogs right?!?! I found so many answers and was able to ask fellow bloggers questions to ease all my worries. I agree with the throw away clothes for the race and I’m usually fortunate enough to not have any chaffing issues, but last race I did get a sort of “bra burn” right at my sports bra line…maybe try some vaseline there to be safe! You’ll get an idea of where you need it as you do your training runs!

Leave a comment